PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Online Newbie with Idiot Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Online Newbie with Idiot Questions

First, it's nice to see how helpful everyone is.
    Second, all the newbie threads are still too knowledgable for me.

I've played poker and worked in the poker industry for decades, but this is my first time online. There are so many things I don't understand:

Right now, only non-cash games are availabe to me in the US. Is there a way to keep track of what I "win/lose" in them or does one start with a fresh buy-in every session?

What are sit-and-go games?

Since I'm not playing real money, how do the tournaments work?

What are all these initials I see (vpp & fpp or something)?

Is there some quiz I'm supposed to take? Where do I find it?

Are there actually ways for me to earn real money even though I'm not investing anything?

Please know that while I'm pretty up on poker, I'm not the most savvy internet person, so feel free to dumb down all responses.

Thanks!
    Sauly

Originally posted by SaulRothman View Post
    First, it's nice to see how helpful everyone is.
    Second, all the newbie threads are still too knowledgable for me.

I've played poker and worked in the poker industry for decades, but this is my first time online. There are so many things I don't understand:

Right now, only non-cash games are availabe to me in the US. Is there a way to keep track of what I "win/lose" in them or does one start with a fresh buy-in every session?

WHAT EVER PLAY MONEY YOU HAVE LEFT WHEN YOU ARE DONE WILL CARRY OVER TO YOUR NEXT TIME

What are sit-and-go games?

SMALL TOURNYS