PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How I got to Aruba...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How I got to Aruba...

... Well, I'm not actually there yet but I'm on my way.

There were some requests in my post in the general forum for some of the details about how I won my trip so here goes:

I've been playing on UB for the past two months with most of my time spent on the low limit H.E. ring games ($1-$2). Every time I was up a couple of bucks (which doesn't seem to be too hard given the quality of play at that level) I'd enter one of the Aruba satellites which range from $12 - $36 and pay 1 - 3 Aruba super-satellite entries.

However, I wasn't doing so hot in the satellites (played a half dozen or so without even placing top three) so I gave up. I think my problem was I was playing them too much like I would the ring games, pressing hands that weren't always all that great. So I laid off the sats for a while, came back over here to PSO and played some sats and tourneys to try and get my NLHE game back in shape.

I also continued to play the ring games and built my bankroll up a couple of hundred dollars. So I decided I'd use that money to enter the super satellites directly ($100+$9 buyin). So last Thursday after what I considered to be a decent showing for myself in the Big One final (39th) I committed my money to my first Aruba super sat.