PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Playing Plans and Strategies

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Playing Plans and Strategies

I was shocked to see that I’ve been playing poker on and off for over 10 years starting out at Pokerroom and joining Pokerstars in 2015. I confess that I have never really had a proper plan or strategy, merely playing low stakes cash, Sit&Go games and tournaments as they took my fancy.

In the beginning I can recall making several wins in tournaments. Looking back through my records (sadly I’ve kept screenshots of all my tournament wins) I see I made 3 in 2005, 5 in 2006 and not much since then, none in the last 3 years. My biggest ever win was a $20 tournament at Pokerroom where I won $1020 in 2006. I have never won a tournament at Pokerstars, in spite of entering several hundred.

Now I find myself playing in a rather frustrating, break-even game and asking why I continue playing given the obvious decline in my success. I have considered giving up but I still enjoy playing for the competitive challenge and the ease with which you can engage in a game with other players with a wide choice of game formats. But, for now, I cannot say I am playing to make a profit. So why has that changed? I guess the simple answer is that the average skill of players has got much better and that improvement has exceeded any improvement I have made. There is so much more educational material available to poker players now in comparison to 2005 and many players can make use of database and software enhancements like heads-up-displays (HUDs). I do not use any of these.