PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My poker journey (or My road to millions).

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My poker journey (or My road to millions).

My wife says I should be be more optimistic (then she laughs when I say I'm going to do well in a tournament), hence the subtitle. Anyway, a little background. I'm married with 3 kids. Although I played my first game of poker in elementary school, I started playing poker as an adult about a year ago (I'm in my early 30's). I've been playing some kitchen games, have played twice in a poker room, but mainly play online on poker stars. I've learned what I have by the standard means (online, books, tv shows, watching poker, instructional dvds, and experience). I enjoy the game. Of course, the thought of making money off of it is a major plus. The tournament experience on pokerstars has been my most valuable tool. Yes, there are a lot of players making stupid calls out there. Yes, people don't play freerolls like they do "real" poker. Like everything in life, you have to learn what is good practice and what was just luck. Calling for all your chips pre-flop w/ 7 2 off will win you money some times, even against poket aces. In the long run (3 hands), the A's will end up ahead. I want that call against my pocket A's every time. Too many people complain that they were given a bad beat by someone who shouldn't have been in the hand. Maybe it's true. That's part of the game, though. And I've seen it in real life. When it ceases to be fun, stop playing or at least take a break from playing, but don't try to make everyone else miserable because you are. Sorry... just wanted to get that out. I'll get off my so