PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sickest of the Sick or Best Non-shove Ever?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Sickest of the Sick or Best Non-shove Ever?

    How was this villain able to put me on a royal flush? Well played, Sir!
    5 Time Bracelet Winner



  • #2
    Did he have AQ/AJ/AT?
    Bracelet Winner

    Comment


    • #3
      How was he putting you on a royal flush?
      He is no doubt trying to bluff you with a better hand and you weren't taking it

      So little chips in the pot, i would have just called and showed.. there are other pots to win, its rare you get to show a royal flush
      Last edited by baud2death; Wed May 07, 2014, 05:14 PM.

      Comment


      • #4
        He limped pocket AA, Arty, he had quad AAAA!!!!! How did he find the strength not to shove?
        5 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          That's pretty shocking. You have the royal a decent percentage of the time, but quad aces has to stack off I think. I would have no problem just calling with AT/AJ, but probably stack with AQ too.
          I suppose that since he has quads, he knows you can't possibly have the nut boat, so he's only really beating QQ/JJ/TT, but it's still pretty shocking to see him just call.

          It's actually pretty remarkable that the pot is so small, given you have nuts vs 3rd nuts.
          Bracelet Winner

          Comment


          • #6
            Very strange

            Comment


            • #7
              You should have shoved the river. Villains raise suggests you lost out on mega value.

              Comment


              • #8
                lol I would never shove this river with quads. Actually it's a crying call. If you had simply shoved over his river raise, it's an easier call. The min-3b is a huge tell of a monster hand.

                You would raise preflop most of the time with TT-KK... certainly with QQ/KK, and certainly betting flop with JJ/TT. He's holding all the aces. You got a free play in the BB, checked flop and turn, and now are bet/3betting river, and with a bet sizing tell of a monster to boot. You either have the Kh, or are making a weird bluff. Shoving quad aces into that range would be insanely bad imo.
                Head Live Trainer
                Check out my Videos

                4 Time Bracelet Winner



                Comment


                • #9
                  Actually this is a nice example of relative hand strength and ranging... yes he's got quads, but the way the hand has played out, you either have the 1 card that beats it, or nothing, so 4-bet shoving has no good value.
                  Head Live Trainer
                  Check out my Videos

                  4 Time Bracelet Winner



                  Comment


                  • #10
                    In addition to the extreme unlikeliness of you holding an underfull based on preflop/flop/turn actions, you probably wouldn't 3-bet the river with an underfull either when you can't even beat aces full. You can't have aces full since he's got them all, you can't have an underfull (at least our play makes no sense for an underfull)... what else can you possibly have in this spot?

                    Sick hand, yes... best non-shove ever, not even close imo.
                    Head Live Trainer
                    Check out my Videos

                    4 Time Bracelet Winner



                    Comment


                    • #11
                      I got to keep reminding myself that - in the long run - the times I get called when I shove the nuts will cancel out the times that I get folds. I also didn't notice that 98 hearts would also crush his quads. So...sigh...your right, as usual. I was so paranoid that he would fold that I re-raised the minimum. Kudos to this villain for thinking it through. I think I probably would have gotten stacked in his position, although I have no plans to be limping AA UTG at 5NL Zoom.
                      5 Time Bracelet Winner


                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Kudos to the villain for his river play, but I think his play pre-river is pretty terrible at all points.
                        Head Live Trainer
                        Check out my Videos

                        4 Time Bracelet Winner



                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X

                        X Cookies Information

                        We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.