PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

You've gotta be kidding...right??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • You've gotta be kidding...right??

    I figure this may not be as bad... as others, but for real.....you gotta be kidding ...right? FOR REAL???????????
    Last edited by Mr. rayzor; Thu Jul 18, 2013, 01:54 AM.

  • #2
    Cant see the hand.

    That is a bad beat.

    Comment


    • #3
      It is unlucky but the villain did have a combo draw on the flop I suppose. You're bet sizing was really nice though imo and the villain did play the hand badly I think. Especially his turn call, he's not getting quite the right price and with his stack size he should be giving up really. I think he should have tried to get it in on the flop if I'm honest.

      Tournament of Champions Winner 2013

      Bracelet Winner

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Fadyen View Post
        I think he should have tried to get it in on the flop if I'm honest.
        +1umbup: If I'm the opp, I'm getting it in on the flop every time there. John (JWK24)
        Super-Moderator



        6 Time Bracelet Winner


        Comment


        • #5
          Hey rayzor, is a playable hand deepstacked on the button. As Fadyen said once the flop came out the villain had a lot of outs. At microstakes level especially most villains will see you to a showdown with a board like that and holding that hand. Raiser umbup:

          Comment


          • #6
            That's not a bad beat...

            Comment


            • #7
              Your river bet is poor your never folding when he shove for the other 0.30 so you might as well value bet the rest of his stack for the times he calls you off with worse hands which will be more than the times he calls with the better hand. You dont want to miss the value it will add up in the long run
              Triple Bracelet Winner

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by High_Suit10 View Post
                Your river bet is poor your never folding when he shove for the other 0.30 so you might as well value bet the rest of his stack for the times he calls you off with worse hands which will be more than the times he calls with the better hand. You dont want to miss the value it will add up in the long run

                THIS ^^^^

                You're priced in to call the river anyway,so check/calling or making a weak little bet like this is really rather pointless. At 2NL there are plenty of players who will call off that last $0.41 that he had left in his stack with hands that you beat,so you may as well get all the value you can the times that you're the better hand. I'm not sure that you'll get called more often with worse than you will with hands that beat you...but if you're only extracting an extra .10 on the river as you attempted to do here,and are paying off 4 times that when you're beat...well I think you can easily see that this is a bad exchange rate,right?

                Besides that...well it's not a Bad Beat really,more like really badly played by the villain. At 2NL a lot of players are going to play this pretty much as the villain did here...textbook Calling Station,the whole way. They aren't going to shove the flop most of them (I would have come right over top in this spot myself) and are perfect targets to value bet. Hopefully you noted this player so you can exploit them in this way as much as possible. Trust me...this suck out makes them MORE inclined to play the hand the same way in the future. You do the same (except for the weakness on the river) and they're going to pay you off more often than not.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Maybe the bad beat part was that he needed a ten or a club on the river to win, and he hit both.

                  Seriously though, good advice here about the villain semi-bluffing the flop and getting it in there, and on the river bet sizing, he will just call with worse hands like KQ so if you win you get .10c and if you're beat you lose .41c... might as well take all .41c when you still have the best hand.

                  This is not a bad beat. As yourself how YOU would have played Q9s in the villain's shoes? Fold preflop? Or facing a raise and flat caller, might you call on the button? Would you fold on the flop? I certainly hope not, you're an equity favorite over some of the preflop raisers range with the combo draw. Against the actual AA he's only a 54-46 dog on the flop with 2 cards to come. That's like taking AK up against QQ all in pre, a slight dog but not a bad beat.
                  Head Live Trainer
                  Check out my Videos

                  4 Time Bracelet Winner



                  Comment


                  • #10
                    thanks guys for showing me different angles of this hand.umbup:

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X

                    X Cookies Information

                    We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.