PokerStars homepage
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I fold monster hands?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I fold monster hands?

After a few years of inactivity, I started playing poker again. I used to win a few thousand dollar in tournaments about 8 years ago, so I can't be that bad.
    Off course I need some time to get into it agin, but here's what I've noticed recently when I play tournaments: every once and a while, I get sufficiently good hands in the early or mid-phase in order to move into the money (or very near).
    When approaching the money, I will always get a bad streak with only trash cards or being drawn out by lesser hands, which will bring my stack down to only a few blinds.
    The bad streak (getting only trash or highly speculative hands for about 20 hands) is often followed by getting a very strong or monsterhand (AA, KK, QQ, AK,...), which I will than loose every single time, getting me kicked out before reaching any decent money.
    This only happens in the real money games, not the play money games!
    Knowing that this will happen 9/10, should I fold these very strong or monster hands when they present themselves, and wait for another decent hand (in that specific situation)?
    Thanks for your reactions!

Welcome back to poker. It is probably worth pointing out that poker has changed a lot in the last 8 years and the average player is now a lot more accomplished than they were back then., but don't worry there are still good opportunities to win.